A large, very overdue update

This project has evolved into something larger than I ever thought it would- senior thesis! For my senior thesis, I will be creating production ready assets and general game/concept art all about my alpaca backpacking through a Malaysian/Penang inspired environment.

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 3.57.48 PMI was really struggling with the forest/jungle environment in the beginning. On the left is my initial attempt at a tree. I realised after a long while that I was too in my head, and following reality too closely- so I let loose a little and I love the result!

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 9.30.14 AMExperimenting with different types of trees- will be doing many more experiments.

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 9.30.03 AMWhat the entire scene/level might look like. It’s pretty basic, but as of right now, I’m not concerned with level design or game design- only the art and visuals.

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 9.31.27 AMMy Penang houses got a little revision- added some floor and perspective! Before, it used to be a “true” side scroller, where only the side view of objects/characters can be seen. But by adding a floor, I think it gives the look of the game an extra dimension that’s more interesting and dynamic.

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 9.32.02 AM

WIP of the marketplace building. Directly referenced from an actual marketplace in Penang. (photo below) I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the perspective lines. I want that extra depth, but I suspect that its far too difficult for me to have dynamic shifting perspective when I won’t be doing any programming at all. I may try to make it more River City Ransom like, or keep it closer to something like isometric (but not exactly isometric).

george-town-market-penang-BE9664Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 9.31.38 AM

Still trying to figure out if I’m going to keep the floating rock thing.

sketchInitial bow and arrow attack sketch for my alpaca.

bowandarrowComplete(ish)! Think I might add some bounce to the top of the hair and ears. Also maybe a bit of squash in the neck? Also going to design some fancier bows for this guy.

alpaca_melee_cleaver_standard

Ditched the sword and shield for the cleaver and pot lid!

wip

Initial sketch of run cycleoutline

Outline of run cycle- will be adding some squash and stretch and bounce!

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 10.03.27 AM

Some potential characters that you fight. On the left, a slice of kaya toast. Kaya is a beloved Malaysian “jam” made out of coconuts and duck eggs. On the right, a boiled egg? Not too partial to this guy, he feels really boring to me.  jumpsketch

Toast jump!

 

 

// rainbowapplepie

Leave a comment